Lists: Worst Books Read in 2011 – # 10

Worst Books Read in 2011

10. The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher: A Shocking Murder and the Undoing of a Great Victorian Detective by Kate Summerscale

I first encountered The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher in a review a few years ago and loved the idea. Unfortunately, came nowhere near living up to its potential. While the underlying story was fascinating, its telling was dull, had polemic tendencies, and overall fell far short of the English fiction it is said to have inspired.

Original Review

About whimsicalmeerkat

One of my goals for 2012 is to read less and play video games more. I'm also attempting to eat more healthy food. All boring, right? Well, I like to think my reviews are not. I know the ones over at OSgA Book Reviews are funny at least. Check them out. Oh yes, I also have a photography habit I've neglected of late. View all posts by whimsicalmeerkat

9 responses to “Lists: Worst Books Read in 2011 – # 10

So what do *you* think?